Governance Structure

Claremont High School Academy as an Academy Trust is a charitable company limited by guarantee (the liability of the members is set at £10 in the model Articles of Association). The Trust has two layers of governance:

- the members, who operate at a strategic level with ultimate control over the direction of the Academy Trust
- the governors (often referred to as the directors or trustees) with responsibility for day-to-day management and operation of the Academy Trust.

The Members

The functions of the members of the Academy Trust include:

- Overseeing the achievement of the objectives of the company.
- Taking part in Annual and Extraordinary General Meetings.
- · Appointing some of the governors.
- · Signing off the company's financial accounts and annual report.
- Power to amend the Articles of the company and, ultimately, to remove the governors/directors.

Overall, members usually have much more limited practical involvement in the management of the company than the governors.

The Governors

The governing body manages the Academy on behalf of the Academy Trust and the key responsibilities are to:

- Ensure the quality of educational provision.
- Challenge and monitor the performance of the school.

 Manage the Academy Trust's finances and property.

 Manage the staff.
- Exercise reasonable skill and care in carrying out their duties.
- Ensure that the Academy Trust complies with charity and company law.
- Operate the Academy in accordance with the Funding Agreement that has been signed with the Secretary of State.

The governing body has delegated the majority of the roles and responsibilities to the following four committees, which meet on a termly basis and report back to the full governing body:

- Audit Committee (Chair:
- Finance, Premises and Health and Safety Committee (Chair: Mr. Jo Jhally)
- Personnel Committee (Chair: Ms Olivia Louisy)
- Pupil and Curriculum Committee (Chair: Mr David Wright/ Liz Coles)

The Constitution

Governing Body Make-up	Posts	In Post (01/04/2017)
Community	4	4
Headteacher Ex officio	1	1
Parent	2	1 member Suspended on 23/3/17
Staff	1	1
Partnership	3	3
Vice Principal	1	1

Details of the Members and Governors who are currently serving as at 1st March 2017 are as follows:

						viaron 2011 are as renews.	
	Governor (Director/Trustee)	Category of Governor and Term of Office	Appointing Body	Trust Board Member	Positions of responsibility	Relevant business interests that could present a conflict of interest including whether a governor at another school	Personal relationship (if any) with members of school staff e.g. spouse, partner, relative
1	Mr Jo Jhally Appointed- 02/09/15	Community 4 Years Exp.01/09/19	Governing Body	√ 	Vice Chair Chair of Buildings, Finance and Health and Safety Committee	Federated Governing Body of Furness and Oakington Manor	None

	Governor (Director/Trustee)	Category of Governor and Term of Office	Appointing Body	Trust Board Member	Positions of responsibility	Relevant business interests that could present a conflict of interest including whether a governor at another school	Personal relationship (if any) with members of school staff e.g. spouse, partner, relative
2	Mr Terry Molloy Head teacher	Principal Ex- officio	Ex Officio	√	Headteacher	Head teacher Governor at the Brent River College Brent; Governor at The Arts Educational Schools London; Board Member of the London Leadership Strategy; Trust member at Wembley High School Multi Academy Trust	

	Governor (Director/Trustee)	Category of Governor and Term of Office	Appointing Body	Trust Board Member	Positions of responsibility	Relevant business interests that could present a conflict of interest including whether a governor at another school	Personal relationship (if any) with members of school staff e.g. spouse, partner, relative
3	Dr David Wright Appointed- 02/09/15	Community 4 Years Exp.01/09/19	Governing Body	V	Chair of Pupil and Curriculum Committee	None	None
4	Ms Elizabeth (Liz) Coles Appointed 02/10/14	Community 4 Years Exp.01/10/18	Governing Body	V	Chair of Pupil and Curriculum Committee	None	None
	Mr Steven Brunswick Appointed 02/05/15	Community 4 Years Exp.01/05/19	Governing Body	√	Chairman Safeguarding link	None	None
6	Ms Gill Aspinall Appointed 02/09/15	Vice Principal 4 Years Exp.01/09/19	Governing Body	√		Vice Principal Governor at Uxendon Manor	None
7	Miss Olivia Louisy Appointed 02/06/15	Partnership 4 Years Exp.01/06/19	Governing Body		Chair of Personnel SEND link	None	None
8	Dr Nigel Molden Appointed 02/09/13	Partnership 4 Years Exp.01/09/17	Governing Body			None	None
9	Ms. Raxita Kapashi		Governing Body				None

	Governor (Director/Trustee)	Category of Governor and Term of Office	Appointing Body	Trust Board Member	Positions of responsibility	Relevant business interests that could present a conflict of interest including whether a governor at another school	Personal relationship (if any) with members of school staff e.g. spouse, partner, relative
	Mr Serdal Yanmaz Appointed 18/11/13	4 Years	Staff Election		Pupil Premium link	Teacher	None
11	Mr Umesh	Parent 4 Years	Parent election		Health and safety link	Parent of student	None

For 2016/17 F.T Molloy declared interest in Arts Educational London and Brent River College.

Membership changes 2016-17

Resignations / end of term

Kiran Tailor February 2017 Howard Bennett February 2017 New appointments / Reappointments

Raxita Kapashi April 2016

Governors' Committees

Finance, Premises and Health and Safety	Personnel	Pupil and Curriculum	Audit
Jo Jhally (Chair) Steve Brunswick Nigel Molden Terry Molloy Umesh Raichada	Olivia Louisy (Chair) Jo Jhally Terry Molloy	Liz Coles (Co-Chair) Serdal Yanmaz David Wright (Co-Chair) Umesh Raichada Olivia Louisy	(Chair - Vacant) Jo Jhally Gill Aspinall
Non-Voting Nicki Boughey Peter Georghiades	Non-Voting Nicki Boughey	Non-Vocting Gill Aspinall Bethan Thomas	Currently under review

Governor attendance at Board and Committee meetings 2016/17

Trustee	Full Governing Body	Personnel	Finance Premises and Health and Safety	Pupil	Audit	Curriculum
Gill Aspinall	√				V	
Steven Brunswick	V		V			
Liz Coles	V			V		V
Jo Jhally	√	V	V		V	
Raxita Kapashi	√					
Olivia Louisy	√	V		V		√
Nigel Molden	V		V			
Terry Molloy	√	V	√			
Umesh Raichada	V		√	V		V
David Wright	V			V		V
Serdal Yanmaz	V			V		√