Claremont High School Academy



Computing / ICT 

Welcome to Claremont High School Academy's Computing/ICT Department webpage. The way ICT is taught in schools has changed. Computer science is going to become part of the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) to give young people a better understanding of computer programming and computing solutions. Computing is of enormous importance to the economy, and the role of Computer Science as a discipline itself and as an ‘underpinning’ subject across science and engineering is growing rapidly. Computer technology continues to advance rapidly and the way that technology is consumed has also been changing at a fast pace over recent years. Claremont High School Academy is successfully delivering this new Computing curriculum outlined by the Government in its recent consultation on curriculum change.   

The Computing / ICT department at Claremont focuses delivering lessons which are allowing us to develop and extend our students knowledge in Computing and ICT. Our curriculum consists of a mixture of Computing and IT including Programming, web-design, spreadsheets, word processing, databases, desk-top publishing, and how to stay safe online. The Computing/ICT department comprises of 4 specialist teaching rooms, containing 30 Student Desktop PCs in each room.  


The Computing / ICT at Claremont is a well established department offering Computing / ICT toallstudents at KS3, KS4 and KS5.  The subject specialist Computing/ICT teachers in the department, are committed, enthusiastic and dedicated to providing all students with the opportunity to excel in the Computing/ICT curriculum. As a result our GCSE and BTEC ICT level 3 achievements and Attainments continue to grow and our sixth form (KS5) classes continue to grow year after year. 



Key Stage 3 

  • Computing at KS3 is taught by using Scratch and Python applications in which they make their own computer programs. 
  • Pupils are also working on various projects such as designing a computer network, financial modelling using spreadsheets and using Computer Aided Design tools.
  • Year 8’s get to choose Computer Science as an option for Year 9, which is recommended for those learners wanting to go on to study Computer Science GCSE.


Key Stage 4 (OCR and AQA exam boards) 

  • At KS4 we offer OCR Computing/Computer Science
  • The courses consist of a controlled assessment part and an exam. The course has recently change:
  • Year 11 have controlled assessment which comprises of 60% of the final grade and students complete this during class time. 
  • Year 10 have controlled assessment which comprises of 20% of the final grade and students complete this during class time.   


 Key Stage 5 (Edexcel exam board) 

  • Year 13 are currently studying the Edexcel BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Information Technology (60 credits).  
  • It is a popular course where students learn the IT skills required by employers today.
  •  It is assessed by 100% coursework and has been developed with employment in mind.
  • The course has recently been updated so the year 12 and subsequent years will be studying the BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology.
  • This course is assessed by 42% coursework and 58% examination.
  • The BTEC Level 3 Nationals in IT are recognised and respected by employers, professional institutions and higher education establishments alike. 


Thanks for the taking the time to visit the Computing/ICT Department web page.